You’ve probably noticed I didn’t get around to posting much this week.  I was at a convention and was pretty busy from morning til late night.  Even though the conference didn’t really have too much to do with entomology, I still managed to get some amazing entomological awesomeness in this week:hooky

  1. Played hooky for a couple hours – and went to the Franklin Park Conservatory (great 049article on the benefits of playing hooky here).  I typically don’t go all gushy and googly over butterflies, but wow did they have a great butterfly house!  The conservatory as a whole was well managed.  If you have never heard about or dealt with greenhouse IPM, it’s a challenge; especially with scales, whiteflies, and aphids.  The plants are great looking and the facility is nicely set up.  It was a bit on the cool side, so there wasn’t much entomological awesomeness going on outside, but many of the spring bulbs were flowering and the trees were starting to flower and leaf out.
  2. Chihuly glass – I have been totally enamoured by Chihuly glass since I saw my first sculpture.  The Conservatory has a number of Chihuly’s pieces and they have their very own “Hot Shop” when they have daily live demonstrations.  I have seen glassblowing before and this was just as cool (maybe even better!) than many I have been to and so informative.  As I was looking into it a bit more, there are some entomologically awesome glass sculptures.  This is one of my favorites.

     

  3. Can’t have a day off without some drinks – I went by to grab a late lunch after my morning fun and came across a little wine store.  Liquor shopping: the only good kind of shopping there is!  So of course, I went in to just look.  I swear I was just going to LOOK.  Yeah.  But how can you have a fabulous sandwich without a bottle of cider?  And a cider with insects on the bottle?  And zombies?  IMPOSSIBLE to pass up.  Picked up a bottle of B. Nektar’s Zombie Killer hard cider.  I was not disappointed.  Except by the fact I didn’t pick up all their versions, but now I have something to look forward to, right?  The mead looks mighty tasty too.  Sounds like a good excuse to take a trip to Michigan!

I am only on the road for a few days next week so I plan on catching up on facebook and posting a bit more in the coming week so stay tuned.  In the meantime, carry on the entomological awesomeness my friends!

Few more pictures I took:

Leave a Reply

