Phoenix Friday Favorites

So I have a couple brief minutes here in Phoenix before I have to board my next flight so I wanted to get this kicked out.  I had a crazy busy, but productive week in California with lots of trainings, a few site visits, and just a little bit of free time to visit the Joaquin Miller Park in Oakland.  So as I sit here in the Pheonix airport, these favorites are all related to that:

  1. It was a cooler day, but lots of bees were out foraging in the park.  It had rained a few days before and lots of the wildflowers were in bloom.  The Bug Squad also had a great bee post this week.
  2. There were also plenty of flies and I hope I got a good shot of one of the hover flies.  But in the Amazon, they are working on horse flies.

    two-horse-flies-630x228
    Check out those wicked mouthparts!
  3. Lastly, anyone that knows me knows that I have a special affinity for spiders.  I saw some amazing mating behavior for one of the orb weavers in the park!  Until I get that posted, check out these amazing spider photos.

I have tons to catch up on this weekend then I am off again on Monday so I am going to do my best to download some of the pictures I took and get a post written up.  We’ll see…  But until then, feel free to spread this entomological awesomeness, while I get more entomological awesomeness going on!

PS – I was working on presentations for next week and found this video that I am using for my fly/cockroach talk:

Leave a Reply

